FIRST Lego League

About the Program

Print

Kids ages 9-13 participate in the FIRST LEGO League (FLL). This program teaches real world engineering and programming skills through hands on research and an exciting robot competition.

Over the course of program, children will work as a team to research a real world scientific problem. In the 2018-2019 season kids will explore an idea of their choosing related the theme INTO ORBIT. Teams will develop and present their research projects to judges during a tournament.

In the Robot Games teams design, build and program a LEGO MINDSTORMS robot using the EV3 controller. The robots are programmed to autonomously solve as may missions as possible in 2 1/2 minutes. Robots must lift, transport and manipulate objects to score points. The friendly competition of this sports-like event makes learning STEM skills fun and exciting.

The program encourages strong team work and character development by promoting the FLL Core Values:

  • We are a team.
  • We do the work to find solutions with guidance from our coaches and mentors.
  • We know our coaches and mentors don’t have all the answers; we learn together.
  • We honor the spirit of friendly competition.
  • What we discover is more important than what we win.
  • We share our experiences with others.
  • We display Gracious Professionalism® and Coopertition® in everything we do.
  • We have FUN!

The Schedule

All Regular session are Tuesdays, 6:15 PM – 8:00 PM at the Longwood Junior High School.

A practice tournament will be held in Ronkokma on either Saturday December 8th or December 15th. A qualifying tournament will be held in January (Date and Location TBD)

If teams qualify they can compete in the regional championship on Sunday March 3rd at the Longwood High School.

Additional meetings may be held based on Coach availability.

Session # Date
1 Tuesday September 18
2 Tuesday September 25
3 Tuesday October 2
4 Tuesday October 9
5 Tuesday October 16
6 Tuesday October 23
7 Tuesday October 30
8 Tuesday November 6
9 Tuesday November 13
10 Saturday November 27
11 Saturday December 4
Practice Tournament Saturday December 9th or 16th
12 Tuesday December 11
13 Tuesday December 18
14 Tuesday January 8
15 Tuesday January 15
16 Tuesday January 22
Qualifying Tournament Saturday January 20th or 27th TBD
17 Tuesday January 29
18 Tuesday February 5
19 Tuesday February 12h
20 Tuesday February 26
Championship Tournament (if qualified) Sunday March 4th, Longwood High School